Lost and Not Yet Found {Coffee for Your Heart}

Lose YourselfAs I often do, earlier this week I had my Pandora musical station playing in the background while I was working. I was barely paying attention to what was playing when these words floated into my consciousness. I checked in and discovered they were from the new Broadway version of the musical Aladdin. Of course they are! Lines like this one are why I love musicals so much. They will often have these lines that cause my breathe to catch in my throat.

These words, in particular, resonate so deeply with me. I’ve been having a bit of an identity crisis since transitioning from my full-time job into the world of entrepreneurship. Add to that a strong sense that the Father is inviting me to explore some of the more ancient practices of my faith and I am in a space for which I have no road map to follow. I only know that I’m supposed to be here but where here is and more importantly where here will take me is completely unknown to me.

Feeling Lost

If I’m going to be truly honest, I feel a little lost right now. Not in a bad, “it’s scary and I want to run back home” way (although I have had those thoughts). More in an “I’m in really unfamiliar territory and though I know I’m supposed to be here, I still don’t know exactly where I am going”. I’m a planner and all these unknowns are a bit scary for me. I am confident in my skills, confident that I have what it takes to do this work well but as I step further and further down this road, I am having to craft a new definition of who I am.

I hear these words from the Aladdin musical and I breathe in a little bit of courage, able to rise to the challenge of CHOOSING to let myself get lost. CHOOSING to be at peace with all these unknowns. On purpose, CHOOSING to head into this adventure with no clear sense of what will come but staying open to the possibility of whatever might come. Because, as another line in the song reminds me “after a million miles or so we’ll [I’ll] find out who we are [I am]”.

Being Courageous

I love the idea of discovering new things about who I am; new things I’m capable of doing I never imagined doing; and experiencing things I never dreamed I would experience. Life is meant to be an adventure. I have one life, one wild and precious life, and I want to live that life to the fullest. If being lost for a little while is the path I have to take to unfold into my best self, then I’m willing to get lost; confident that in letting myself get lost, I’ll find out who I am.

You might be feeling lost today too. Maybe you are in a transition of some sort or maybe you’re at the start of something new and you can’t see the forest for the trees. I want to encourage you to see in this all the possibilities of what could come to you here. All the things you can learn and discover about yourself. I know feeling lost is scary but there is a promise in Isaiah that you can cling to help you hold onto your courage.

Whether you turn to the right or to the life, in your ear you will hear a voice behind you, saying “this is the way; walk in it” Isaiah 30:21 NIV Ā 

So be strong and very courageous today my fellow lost traveler. We may be lost for awhile longer but after a million miles or so we just might find out we’re home.

From my heart to yours,

Makeda Holley-Gerth-Button-250x250This post is part of the Coffee for Your Heart link up with the lovely Holley Gerth, sharing a little bit of mid-week encouragement to help you get through the day.

10 thoughts on “Lost and Not Yet Found {Coffee for Your Heart}

  1. Powerful words Makeda, just be strong and courageous, your post said it all and I won’t be adding anything to it!
    Lots of love and blessings to you my friend! šŸ™‚

  2. Sarah says:

    I found your post Makeda from Coffee For Your Heart, thanks so much for sharing these words. I’ve definitely been in a place of feeling lost, actually earlier this month as I was trying to discern what God wanted me to do this summer. But He was faithful to make a path for me as I was obedient to Him and I know He will help you too! Keep on encouraging! God bless! šŸ™‚

    • I love how the Father simply meets us where we are and then gently guides us to where He desires for us to be. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. All the best to you

  3. I am so enjoying your courageous sense of adventure and appreciate your sharing the journey with us.We really do only have one wild and precious life to live to the full and those scary, lost times can teach us so much about who we are and what we`re made of. And, as you point out ,sharpen our ears to hear that voice of the Father telling us:this is the way; walk in it”. Thank you for your encouragement and taking us along for the ride! šŸ™‚

    • Maria, your encouragement on this journey has been so invaluable. Thank you for always sending just the right word at just the right time. You are a gift to me and I truly appreciate you. Hugs to you friend.

  4. I have two quotes stuck on my desk at work:
    “Not all those who wander are lost” (Tolkein)
    “What is the point of being alive if you don’t at least try to do something remarkable” (John Green)
    (I also have a check list to make sure I’m not a zombie….yeah).
    Sometimes we need to push out from the harbour into deeper waters – the unknown – into the “gap” where we have no choice but to relinquish control… šŸ™‚

    • Aww Paula thanks for stopping by friend. The Tolkien quote is one of my favorites and I LOVE the other one. I may have to create a graphic for that and write a post about it šŸ™‚ Pushing out into those deeper waters is scary business but that’s where the magic happens isn’t it? Thanks for commenting and appreciate that you popped over to read. Hugs to you!

Leave a Reply

