Musings from Around the Web 05.09.14 Edition

05.09.14 weekly roundupI missed last week’s Musings and this week I’m posting a day earlier than normal although I’m thinking I may move these to Fridays anyway. It’s not a long list because it’s been a full on week for me but I found a few gems I wanted to share with you guys. Enjoy!

Letting go is hard to do, especially when we feel led to let go of something that has been a big part of our lives for a long time. Boy, do I know what this feels like as I’m in the middle of a major transition in my life. But this short video reminds us that sometimes we have to let go of the good in our lives to make room for something even better – When you really say goodbye to something, mentally, and it’s time to end that chapter and start a new one, so many amazing things can happen.

I was completely inspired reading the story of these six women who paid off over $440,000 in debt. I am doing a lot of work this year on my relationship with money and these stories stoked that fire even more – “Arianne Fisher, a single mother who paid off more than $40,500 in the past year and a half, went from feeling “completely defeated” to having “a beaming outlook on life.” she says. “I feel proud of my accomplishments and optimistic for the future.” “

This post by Danielle LaPorte is just plain brilliant. She offers a different perspective on how to handle anxiety. You know that crippling feeling that keeps you stuck and unable to move forward. Danielle offers up an idea that I think is potentially life changing for those feeling trapped by anxiety – “Anxiety doesn’t come bearing the solution. It’s just there to direct your attention to the problem.”

Finally, as has become my custom here on the Weekly Roundup I leave you with a video that I hope will inspire you. This one is from a couple seasons ago on Britains Got Talent (evidently I have a thing for the Brits 🙂 ).

I wept watching this video because I’m so sick of people being judged by what they look like without taking the time to get to know them (listen to Simon’s comment at the beginning). Simon and most of this audience dismissed this young man because he didn’t “look the part”. But then he sang and reminded them to never judge a book by it’s cover.

I don’t care who you are or what you look like, the world needs your gifts and your talents. No one is served by you playing small so DO NOT let anyone diminish your light. But most of all don’t YOU diminish your light because of someone else’s voice in your head. *stepping off my soap box now*

Leave a Reply

