Trust Your Heart {Coffee For Your Heart}

Steve Jobs QuoteTrust is hard. It’s one of those words that are easy to write, easy to say but oh so hard to actually do. I don’t do trust well. I used to say it’s the New Yorker in me that makes me skeptic and untrusting by nature. The truth, though, is that I don’t trust because it’s safer not to. It’s safer to stay tucked in behind the 10 foot wall I have built around me, because in there I can control what happens. I get to decide who is invited behind my wall and who I will keep out.

I’m reading Daring Greatly right now. I know I’m probably the only human left on the planet who hasn’t read it yet. And the funny thing is, I have recommended the book more times than I count because I love Brene’s work so much. But it hasn’t felt right to read it until now. Now when I’m upon this season of change and living into my OneWord for this year of RISK.  As I read her words I’m reminded that vulnerability isn’t an option if I want to really experience love and belonging, something my soul craves. But how do I trust? How do I learn who deserves to come in and who doesn’t?

What I’m learning is that my heart knows. It knows who’s safe and who isn’t. My heart knows because it is grounded in truth, while my mind is festered with the lies of comparison and not enoughness. But truth lives in my heart and when I learn to quiet the voices around me, and sit in the silence and solitude, then my heart speaks. It tells me what I need to know, where I need to go and who needs to journey with me.

I don’t know your story. I don’t know what you are facing right now but I imagine at least one person reading these words is wondering how they’re going to make it. How in the world, can you know what to do? What’s the right decision? Who are the right people? To you I say, trust your heart. It knows! Your heart knows what you need and if you can still the voices of the naysayers around you, your heart will guide you where you need to go.

Your mind wants to control but your heart wants to guide. Trust your heart because it already knows. It might not make sense in your head but if it feels right in your heart then step boldly into that unknown place, take the risk and watch what happens. I have a feeling you might be surprised by what you find.

Once upon a time, my friend Lisa-Jo found her heart tugging in a direction that surprised her. After having declared that being a mom was not the path she was meant to walk, she heard her heart saying something different.  She didn’t know what to make of it but she listened and found herself surprised by motherhood. She has crafted a beautifully written story of her journey to momhood and in her own unique way, she celebrates the superheros that are Moms.

In honor of Mother’s Day next weekend, I’m giving away a copy of her book, Surprised by Motherhood. Click here to view the trailer. To be entered all you have to do is share in the comments one of the biggest surprises you found when you took a risk and trusted your heart. The contest will stay open until Monday May 5 at 11:59 PM EST. I will choose someone on Tuesday morning and ship you a brand new copy of the book, with a special surprise from Lisa-Jo herself. Even if you don’t win, I strongly recommend picking up a copy of this book for yourself or a mother in your life. Her words are like honey to  your soul and will soothe the aching tired parts of your being.

Praying today that we all learn how to trust a little more easily.

From my heart to yours,

Makeda Coffee-for-Your-Heart-150

This post is part of the Coffee for Your Heart link up with the lovely Holley Gerth, sharing a little bit of mid-week encouragement to help you get through the day.

10 thoughts on “Trust Your Heart {Coffee For Your Heart}

  1. “Your mind wants to control but your heart wants to guide.” So simple, yet so profound. I’ve been enjoying your recent posts…really has made me think about stuff especially in the recent passing of my father. But sorry that I haven’t commented, all my emphasis has been on helping my mom through this initial pain. Thank you for your visits though…and I so hope you’ll make that trip to NYC soon because I so want to meet you! Thanks for all you share.

    Oh, in regards to risk…during my corporate years I took responsibility of an area of the business I knew nothing about…my heart said grasp the opportunity, but there was so much doubt in my mind. I went with my heart and it opened up my entire career.

    • Hi friend, so good to see your face here. I know life has been busy and lots of transitions happening in your world. Holding you in my heart and in my prayers for peace in this hard days. My goal is NYC before the end of the summer so you and I are definitely going to have to meet IRL. Thanks for sharing about taking that risk. Seems like it was one worth taking for sure. Hugs to you friend!

  2. The thing that surprised me about motherhood was how hard it was to take the risk to be a mother and not a ‘smother (er)’ I wanted to do everything for my children (it’s a good thing my husband sees differently and we were able to discuss and balance each other out) and lash out any time anyone threatened them. It felt so risky to let my kids get jobs in town (7 miles away) and ride their bikes to work when they were 15. But the responsibility of holding down a job taught them so much about life and the importance of education. It felt so risky to not demand an audience with a teacher that I felt was being unfair to my child and instead say, “What are you going to do about your problem with Mr. Jones?” and let HER confront the teacher. But now she nows how to have a polite confrontation that produces results.

    • Anita, I think being a parent is the riskiest thing anyone will ever do. I love the quote that says something along the lines of being a parent means that you will forever live with your heart outside of yourself. It sounds like you have learned to balance taking those risks with keeping them safe. Thanks so much for sharing. This really warmed my heart.

  3. Makeda,
    Oh, girl, I can relate to the struggle to trust…including my intuition…and I haven’t read Brene Brown’s book yet 🙂 although I loved her Gifts of Imperfection…I can’t keep up with all the good book I want to read…I am not very good on Twitter but I found you and your blog URL…

    Oh, and RISK…what a bold word….I took a risk and went to Guatemala with strangers (2 of them I met only via blogging) and it was amazing…especially getting to meet Jefferson, our sponsored boy.

    What surprised me about motherhood? Hmm…so much…how much my heart breaks when hers does and how her delight delights me 🙂

    • Oh Dolly, I don’t have any children but I so relate to the idea of your heart breaking when your daughter’s heart breaks and the joy that comes from seeing her delighted. I think it is incredible that you went to another country with a bunch of strangers. Sooo brave! Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting. OH and I’m glad to know I’m not the only person who hasn’t read Brene’s book 🙂

  4. That is so funny you said that – I have so many books that I haven’t read yet because it hasn’t yet felt like the right time! I had a wise friend once say that “books pick you for a reason, and you will find that reason sooner or later!”

    Trusting the journey is so hard on our intellects. We know how the world wants us to live our lives ( not trusting of anyone) and we know how God wants us to live our lives ( love others and have faith that He will see you through) – so there’s a natural conflict. Our hearts do not like conflict, so we do whatever it takes to stop the icky feeling and move on. You are so right in that our hearts know – our lines to/from God – and we need to have a little more faith and trust its urgings.

    Your words are timely for me today. Thank you so much for speaking your heart to mine.

    Kristin

    • Goodness so much wisdom in these words, “Trusting the journey is so hard on our intellects.” Such a powerful statement, full of so much truth. Thanks for stopping by and sharing a bit of your heart wisdom over here today. Hugs to you!

Leave a Reply

