Musings from Around the Web 04.19.14 Edition

04.19.14 roundup

My wanderings around the web this week were full of lots of “dang that’s good” moments. I could probably fill several posts with some of what I found but I’ll keep it to just a few today I promise 🙂

I don’t know that there will always be a theme but this week it’s all about being brave, vulnerable and unafraid of being who you are.

For the second week in a row, Arianna Huffington makes an appearance in the Weekly Roundup. I think she’s such a great role model for women and I just love the way she thinks. In this video she offers us some tips on quieting the voice of self-doubt that lives in all of our heads – “I had to really educate her and educate myself to realize that I am not that voice — I am not that negative fantasy or these doubts.”

The sheer brilliance of this post’s title is reason enough to read it but then the authors go on to deliver one of the best things I’ve read in a long time on the power of being our most authentic self – “The more comfortable you are – the less you are subjecting yourself to discomfort for the sake of others or appearances – the more you will draw people who really are interested in being there with you.”

Being vulnerable is hard, like really hard. It sort of feels like standing naked in a room full of people, all staring at you. That icky feeling you just got reading that sentence, yeah that’s what vulnerability feels like. But in this post, Jonathan Fields suggests that is exactly what we need to do if we are going to step into our best self – “Naked and silent is the place where your next better self takes root.”

I love Brene Brown! Her original TED talk set off a chain reaction in my life back in 2010 that is still reverberating today. I recently started reading her book Daring Greatly. The title is inspired from a quote by Theodore Roosevelt. In 2012 Brene gave a second TED talk where she shared this quote and expounded on it to address the issue of shame. An artist took the original quote and Brene’s words in her TED talk and created  this incredible poster“We look up and the critic we see pointing and laughing…99% of the time is who? Us”

I hope you were inspired by some of these. I’ll sign off this week’s roundup with a video from this season’s Britain’s Got Talent. Les Miserables is one of my FAVORITE musicals. I cry every time I watch it and what these guys did with the song Stars in simply breathtaking. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

