Dare to Tell A Different Story {Coffee For Your Heart}

playing a roleThere was a High School Musical marathon on the other day and being that I love all things musical (even the cheesy ones), not watching the movies was not an option. I loved them when they first came out and was pleasantly surprised to find that I still enjoyed them. What struck me as I watched them was the journey the main character, Troy Bolton, went on to embrace a story different than the one others had written for him.

Troy’s family and friends all had expectations of who he would become. Throughout the three movies, Troy struggles between being who he is supposed to be and who he might want to be.Β  In the end, he doesn’t choose either/or but he decides both/and is what is right for him. It wasn’t easy but ultimately he dared to rise into the story that was best for him.

For those of you who feel like you’re in a similar struggle, you have this story about who you are that you’ve been writing for a long time but lately something has been stirring in your heart telling you there’s more. Today, I want to encourage you that you can reclaim the narrative of your life and dare to write a different story.

Letting Go of Other People’s Expectations

“I just want my future to be my future” Troy Bolton

I’ve written before about how hard it can be to get out from under the weight of other people’s expectations. Well meaning family and friends tell you who they think you should be and for awhile you agree with them. But gradually over time it stops feeling right. The identity you’ve worn for so long doesn’t fit anymore and you’re soul is desperate for something to change. At the same time, changing feels nearly impossible.

But I need to tell you today that you have to dare to claim your own dreams. You have been given unique gifts, some of which may be only just beginning to come to the surface. You owe it to yourself and to the world to lean in and really discover who you are supposed to be. The One who is authoring your story just might have a plan for you that is bigger than you or your loved ones can imagine {hint: He usually does and by usually I mean always πŸ™‚ }. Dare to believe that and then embrace the courage to step into what feels new and different.

There’s More In You Than You Know

“It takes courage to trust one’s instinct” Ms. Darbus

In the third movie, Ms. Darbus submits an application for Troy to go to Julliard. She saw more in Troy than just the boy who played basketball. He was defined by what he had always done but she saw the more in him that was hiding and she dared him to own that part of him too.

There is so much more in you than you know. So much more that you are capable of becoming and thing is, you know it. Deep down inside of you, where the truth of who really you are lives, you have the sense that you are more than you have become. I know it feels scary to look into those hidden places of your heart, full of the cobwebs of dreams long ago laid down. But if you can breathe in courage, take a deep breathe of the assurance that He who has begun a good work in you will see it finished, then what you find, as you look, just might surprise you. Trust that thing in you that’s telling you this is right. Lean in and discover the more that is lying dormant in you.

Don’t Be Afraid of Breaking the Status Quo

“East High is a place…that taught us to break the status quo and define ourselves as we choose.” Troy Bolton

All the really great stories out there, the ones we read or watch over and over again involve the main character going against what was expected. He faces a challenge that feels so much bigger than him but in that adversity he learns how to rise to the challenge. It is that rising to meet the challenge that turns an ordinary story into a truly extraordinary one.

Dare to challenge the status quo. Dare to decide that you will not live anything less than the very best life you are capable of living. Dare to believe that you can rise to the challenge of disappointing other people, if it means you don’t disappoint yourself and more importantly you don’t disappoint the Father.

I don’t for one second believe that what I am saying is easy. But I do believe in the end it will be worth it.

Will you take the dare? Will you dare to let go of other people’s expectations? Dare to embrace the more that is in you? Dare to break the status quo? Will you dare to rise into a better story? I know you can do it!

From my heart to yours,

Makeda Coffee-for-Your-Heart-150This post is part of the Coffee for Your Heart link up with the lovely Holley Gerth, sharing a little bit of mid-week encouragement to help you get through the day.

9 thoughts on “Dare to Tell A Different Story {Coffee For Your Heart}

  1. Makeda,
    I got chills reading your post as this morning in my journal I wrote I need to tell myself a better story about myself… a line from Marlon Hall’s talk, which I heard last year and still sticks with me…Thanks for being another voice of God reminding me of this truth…Glad we “met”…blessings πŸ™‚

    • Oh Dolly thanks so much for sharing. I love when God sends those sacred echoes and I’m thrilled to have been a part of one for you today. Thanks for stopping by and praying the Father helps you find the language you need to start telling yourself a better story. Blessings to you!

  2. Hi Makeda,

    I found you through Coffee for Your Heart. Secretly, I love the HSMs, too! But don’t tell my daughter! Ha! You it the nail on the head as to why I really enjoy them – they embrace the struggle and come out stronger – when they follow the voices in their hearts.

    Adversity is one crazy gift.

    I am relatively new to the blogosphere and I am trying to find my voice – the one that really lets Him shine. Sometimes when I read others’ work I feel like I just don’t have it – especially the techy stuff ( I have NO idea how to code)

    Thank you for saying, “The One who is authoring your story just might have a plan for you that is bigger than you or your loved ones can imagine {hint: He usually does and by usually I mean always πŸ™‚ }. Dare to believe that and then embrace the courage to step into what feels new and different.”

    Kristin

    • Kristin, thank you so much for stopping by and commenting. Your secret is safe with me; I promise not to tell your daughter πŸ™‚ I’m so glad my words encouraged your heart. My passion is to see women find their voice and own their story so they can offer their best selves into the world. I’m off to check out your blog and look forward to staying connected with you. Hugs and blessings to you!

  3. Makeda, love the way you weaved the stories in the movie to our stories in real life. Found myself nodding my head and heart a lot and embracing the truth that “You owe it to yourself and to the world to lean in and really discover who you are supposed to be”.We have a real, unique role to play in the story the Author of our life has cast us in. Yes, probably bigger and bolder than we can imagine. Also appreciated your take on Ms Darbus dare as it reminded me we can be the ones to “trust one’s instinct” and take action when we see more in others..Thank you.

    • Maria you always full of such kind words and encouragement. Thank you for reading and for your comments. I love a good story and always try to find the life lessons in them. Thinking of doing a blog post series on my 3 favorite movies and the lessons to be learned from them. Thanks again for stopping by

Leave a Reply

