Musings from Around the Web 04.12.14 Edition

04.12.14 weekly roundupAs I was wondering around the web this week I came across some great content that I wanted to share with you guys. My goal is to do this on a regular basis because there’s some really good stuff out there. My thinking and assumptions are being challenged and I like it, a lot. I’ve decided to take y’all along on that ride with me too so you can look for one of these posts, hopefully weekly.

Over the last few weeks I’ve been leaning more and more into my passion to see women rise into their best selves, ESPECIALLY women leaders. As women, I believe we habitually diminish who we are and the value we have to bring in owning our stories and our voices. As women leaders, we think we have to do it the way men do it to succeed and I just happen to disagree with that thought process.

My findings this week are aimed at getting us women to think differently about how we present ourselves and our work to the world.

In this interview with Arianna Huffington, women are challenged to redefine success –  “…redefining success and what it means to live a life that matters, which will be different for each of us, according to our own values and goals (and not those imposed on us by society)

My friend Karen, penned this gorgeous post that reminded me, when it comes to the work I offer to the world, there is no right or wrong way, there is only my way – “because it’s not about doing more. or doing right. it’s about being you. and doing what you need to do based on where you are right now.”

After reading this article about a habit that lasts only 30 seconds, I have a found a little notebook to carry around with me so I can start implementing it – “it’s not note taking…it’s hard work…[but] it gets easier and more valuable.”

I LOVE Pharrell Williams’ song Happy. Seriously, how can you not get happy listening to that song 🙂 This post offers some clues on how to find your happy – “Instead of worrying about what others think you “should” be doing to find joy, they say, focus on finding your own unique path to happiness.”

I’ll sign off on this week’s roundup with Pharrell Williams’ video. I dare you not to smile while watching it. Have a fabulous weekend and may you discover your HAPPY!

2 thoughts on “Musings from Around the Web 04.12.14 Edition

Leave a Reply

