Pushing Past Resistance

Resistance QuoteIn his book Do the Work, author Steven Pressfield lists the enemies that we will face in the pursuit of any goal or work that we set out to do. It doesn’t matter if we are artists, entrepreneurs or SAHM, if we have a goal that we need to accomplish there are common enemies that come against us. The first, and in my opinion the biggest, enemy we have to fight is Resistance.

Here are few of the things, Steven says about Resistance* (and yes it is capitalized on purpose because it is a noun; it is the enemy that is  standing in the way of you and me reaching forward to thing we are meant to be doing):

“Resistance is a repelling force. It’s negative. Its aim is to shove us away, distract us, prevent us from doing our work. Resistance will tell you anything to keep you from doing your work.”

“The more important a call or action is to our soul’s evolution, the more Resistance we will feel toward pursuing it.”

“Resistance aims to kill. Its target is the epicenter of our being: our genius, our soul, the unique and priceless gift we were put on this earth to give that no one else has but us.”

I have been bumping up against a lot of Resistance lately. I am making a major change in my life, shifting my focus in a new direction and there is a lot of work that I have to do. Work I’m not doing. Some pieces are getting done but for the most part I have not gotten into the muck and mire of what is necessary for me to really gain some traction and do the work I know I need to do.

There is fear and lots of self doubt which are to be expected; these are two of the common forms that Resistance will take. But the main way that Resistance is showing up for me is with distractions. Dear lord, most days I feel like Doug in the movie Up.

Social media is Resistance’s main ally in this war right now. A few minutes on Facebook to check on something, turns into hours lost checking updates, reading articles posted or worst taking one of those quizzes currently making the rounds. I also lose time scrolling through pictures on Instagram or status updates on Twitter. All distractions keeping me from doing my work.

But I’m ready to push through all this Resistance. It’s time for me to actively engage this enemy of Resistance and win this war of putting my work into the world.

I share this with you to ask for your help to keep me accountable. If you don’t start seeing regular posts on this blog with fresh content, you have my permission to contact me and ask me about it. You have my permission to kick my tail if you see me giving into Resistance because I’m done letting it win.

This is me declaring a moratorium on Resistance. It might show up again but for now, it’s use of distractions will no longer win. I’m committing to DO THE WORK!

*all quotes taken from Do the Work by Steven Pressfield

 

2 thoughts on “Pushing Past Resistance

  1. Makeda,,I’ve never had anyone ask me to kick their tail before. But I’m willing to for you. 🙂 Way to go girl for your courage to publicly declare your moratorium on resistance. I will pray for you as you jump into action and do the work. Serves as an inspiration too, Look forward to seeing how you work things out. God bless you!

Leave a Reply

