You’re Going to Be Okay {Coffee for Your Heart}

God is writing your storyI’ve had some hard days, days when it took everything I had to get out of bed in the morning, as I wondered how I was going to get through the next hour, let alone the entire day.

I’ve had some dark days, days when when my breath would catch in my chest taut against the weight of the darkness. I don’t claim to have gone through a real clinical depression but still I think I understand a little of what it’s like to feel as if there is little to no light guiding your way.

I know those days and I know what it feels like to question if you’re ever really going to be okay.

Those days are never easy but what I learned as a result of those days is that God’s got me. I firmly believe that God is Sovereign, that nothing that happens in my life catches Him by surprise. He’s not sitting up in Heaven saying to Jesus, “Wow I totally didn’t see that coming for her” 🙂 He’s so much bigger than that. He’s writing this rich, amazing, story with lives and story lines that are intersecting in ways that only He could possibly orchestrate.

He’s writing your story and He does not need the backspace key.

My friend Alece shared that with me once and I remember it often especially when the hard days come. He’s writing my story and He really doesn’t need a backspace key because none of it is unexpected for Him. He sees, He knows and He’s got this!

So today, over our cup of coffee (you) and tea (me), I say to you that no matter what is happening in your world right now, it’s going to be okay because God’s got this and He’s got you. He’s authoring your story and although you might think a rewrite is in order, He’s not interested in using the backspace key on your story. He knows the twists and turns of your plot AND where they will take you.

He knows how to take this good or this bad and use it all for your good in the long run. He’s a master story teller and He is crafting a beautiful bestseller with your story.

“Everything will be okay in the end” John Lennon

So hang in there, I promise you it really is going to be okay in the end. And as John Lennon reminds us if it’s not okay right now, then it’s not the end. This is not how your story ends. This is an arc in your story and as every good storyteller knows the best parts of the story come after the arc. That singular moment that changes the trajectory of the story – Bilbo say yes to the adventure, Frodo agrees to take the ring to Mordor, the Pevensie children climb into the wardrobe. All the really good stuff happens after the arc shift so know that no matter what’s going on now, good is coming your way.

You’re going to be okay. I’ve got a lot of faith in you but more importantly God’s got a lot of faith in you! No backspace key needed here!

From my heart to yours,

Makeda Coffee-for-Your-Heart-150

I am once again linking up with the lovely Holley Gerth for her Coffee for Your Heart series. You can click here to learn more.

2 thoughts on “You’re Going to Be Okay {Coffee for Your Heart}

Leave a Reply

