52 Photos Project – Week 42 {Crooked Line}

Well for the prompt over at 52 Photos Project this week, I once again dug into my archives for a submission. In November 2012 I spent a week driving down the Pacific Coast Highway (PCH). It was a solo trip but seeing as I like my own company, traveling solo has never been an issue for me. Add to that the scenic beauty of that drive and it was hands down one of the best weeks of my life.

DSC_0614

Bixby Bridge (taken on my way to Big Sur)

The thing about the PCH though is it is anything but straight. It is pretty much one long stretch of winding (i.e. crooked) road along the Pacific Coast, with mountains on one side and the ocean on the other. I drove from North to South so I had the ocean on my right. I kept my hands at 10 and 2 the entire time I was driving because there is not a lot of wiggle room on this road. You swerve and you’re swerving into the ocean. It was gorgeous but nerve wracking at the same time šŸ™‚

DSC_0633

see how close to the edge the road is? a little too close for comfort if you ask me šŸ™‚

The PCH is also a budding photographers dream come true because it is literally one stunning picture after another. I came home with over 1,000 pictures from my trip and I still love looking at those pics.

Ā  DSC_0609

DSC_0680

If you have never had an opportunity to drive the PCH, I highly recommend it. You will not be sorry.

Head over to this week’s gallery to see what the other photographers have submitted and remember to leave them some love when you visit their sites.

This trip wasn’t necessarily my favorite vacation ever, that honor goes to my trip to Sydney, Australia back in 2009. This, however, was a very close second. How about you, what was your favorite vacation?

2 thoughts on “52 Photos Project – Week 42 {Crooked Line}

  1. I can’t even imagine doing this trip solo! Meaning what an incredible experience to stop when you want to stop…how wonderful! Beautiful captures. It has been over 25 years since I did that trip…makes me want to put it back on the list! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

