You Are Not Alone – {Coffee For Your Heart}

I’m linking up with Holley for her weekly Coffee for Your Heart Series. It’s a midweek jolt of encouragement to help get you through the week. So grab a cup of coffee or your favorite spot of tea and tuck in for a few thoughts shared from my heart to yours.

light conquers darkness

Not so long I walked through a very difficult time. It was probably one of the darkest times of my life. I questioned everything I had believed for most of my life and at one point I wasn’t even sure that I still believed in God. It really was a dark night of my soul. When I look back over my journals before and during that time I see where God had prepared me for that season.

He had sent me scriptures that would pop into my heart at random times. In the middle of it all, most days I wasn’t sure I believed them but still they were there. Psalm 18 was one of those scriptures. It was this scripture more than anything that let me know even when I’m going through a dark time, God is still with me.

He opened the heavens and came down; dark storm clouds were beneath his feet…He shrouded himself in darkness, veiling his approach with dark rain clouds.  Psalm 18:9, 11

During this season, the usual “God promised He would never leave me or forsake me” didn’t work for me. I had decided God wasn’t good for His word. He wasn’t upholding His end of the bargain I didn’t realize I had struck with Him, so that “never leave me nor forsake me” verse felt like another empty promise. But reading those verses in Psalm 18 showed me that sometimes God hides Himself in the darkness.

When we lose power in our homes, it can take a minute for us to find our bearings. Everything that is normally very familiar suddenly feels unfamiliar. A place we once knew so well, becomes an unknown that is difficult to navigate. Often times in those moments of unexpected darkness, if we take a minute we can find a source of light. Maybe it’s the street light outside our window, maybe it’s the headlights to a car sitting outside, maybe it’s an emergency light that stayed on when all others went out. We find the light source and we move toward it.

There has never been a time when light did not win over darkness. There are times when the darkness feels like it is winning but that is an illusion. Light will always conquer darkness. If you are going through a dark time, if you find yourself questioning where is God, I want to encourage you today that He is WITH you. You are not alone. He hides Himself in the darkness and just as when we lose power in a storm and have to find the available light sources, so too in this dark hour we have to look for the Light to reveal Himself.

“He rides with the dark clouds beneath His feet, hiding his approach with dense rain clouds.” He is WITH you. You are not alone. Even in the darkness the Father is with you. Jesus came as Emmanuel, God WITH us, to remind us that we are NOT alone.

If you are facing a dark time in your life, I want you to know that Light ALWAYS conquers darkness. While you wait for the Light to be revealed – in your anger, in your fears, and even in your doubts – He is with you. The darkness does not bother Him. Your doubts about Him don’t bother Him. Your anger at Him doesn’t phase Him. Even your outright lack of belief in Him doesn’t move Him.

He is still there with you because He loves you that much. His love for you is stronger than any mountain you might face. And because He cannot lie, His promise that He will never leave you is very much true whether you believe it or not. So have your doubts, be angry if you want but know that even in all of that you are still not alone. Even in the darkness, He is with you.

You Are Not Alone!

Sending you lots of love today,

Makeda Coffee-for-Your-Heart-150

4 thoughts on “You Are Not Alone – {Coffee For Your Heart}

    • Hi Susie, thanks so much for stopping by and commenting. I’m glad to hear that the words touched you and the Father used them to speak to you. Hugs to you!

Leave a Reply

