Redefining Beauty

Last week I linked up with Holley Gerth for her Coffee for the Heart series on the topic, You Are Beautiful. As I read through many of the posts that were linked I saw a common theme of most of the women admitting to struggling to see their own beauty. Women from all walks of life, in all shapes and sizes are questioning, “am I really beautiful?”

It makes me so mad that we, myself included, have bought into the lie the media and society tells us about what beauty is “supposed” to look like. There is no such thing as a standard for beauty and anyone who says otherwise is lying and has an agenda. Someone shared this Dove video with me and I loved it so much I wanted to share it with all of you too. You may have already seen it but it is worth watching again.

What struck me most in this little film is how the insecurities of the mothers were transferred to their daughters. I have a friend who is a size 4 and is constantly complaining about how “fat” she is. I try not to choke her every time I hear those words come out of her mouth but mostly my heart aches for her two teenage daughters who I know are internalizing their mother’s words. I often wonder what wounds she is unwittingly causing in her daughter’s souls with her words.

I’m not a mom biologically but I mentor and lead a group of young women and I feel the same sense of responsibility for them as I would my own daughters. Moms, we have to be careful with our words. Our daughters hear and see what we do. When we dismiss our own beauty or complain about something we don’t like about ourselves, our daughters hear that those things are wrong with them too. Our words matter, let’s use them to empower ourselves and our daughters. Watch this and then share it with your daughters or the young women in your life.

Leave a Reply

