Facing My Fears

It's Time To Start

photo by Celestine Chua, Creative Commons

Here lately my fears have been working overtime in my head, running story after story telling me that I’m crazy for taking some of the risks that I have been taking. Wait correction, I’m crazy for even THINKING about taking those risks. Fear is talking a lot and it is talking loud! But you know what? I’m tired of fear’s voice. I’m tired of listening to that sorry, played out tape that is running around in my mind telling me how not enough I am. I am done listening to my fears. I’m done letting what other people might think or how I might look keep me from doing the things I feel called to do. A part of me keeps waiting for the fear to subside or I try to talk myself out of feeling fear. But I am learning that I need to take the fear with me. As my Manifesto says “feel the fear and do it anyway”!

A couple of days ago I came across this incredible video of this man who spent YEARS of his life listening to the voice of his fears. The voice sounded like friends and family members who told him he could never do the thing he was CLEARLY born to do. That’s how fear works best; fear likes using the words of those closest to us to get us to turn from dong what only we can do. Fear wants to shut us up and keep our light dimmed. But this man decided that enough was enough. He stared down his fear and in the end he won. I don’t know if he ultimately won the competition but on this day, he won because he looked fear in the face and told it NO MORE! Literally shaking and in tears, he felt the fear and DID.IT.ANYWAY!

Watch this video and may it inspire you to stare your own fears down and tell them to SHUT UP!! I know it did for me. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Facing My Fears

  1. Thank you for posting this!! BTW he did go on to win!!!!!!!! even though just about every week 3 of the judges KEPT beating up on him with comments such as “he was the king of karaoke” but how was he going to sell records…bla bla bla! Lovely lovely thank you! What a JOY to see some one overcome big-time like that!

    and thank you for sharing your life and walk… We can walk strong together! -ml

    • Mary Lou, I’m so thrilled to hear that he won. What a victory for him! Thanks for stopping by and reading my ramblings. I appreciate the support because you are right, we can walk strong TOGETHER! Blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

