52 Photos Project – Week 24

The prompt this week over at 52 Photos is Gold. I was torn about which direction to go with this one. I had an idea but then I remembered a pic I took last fall that would be perfect. In the end, I decided I’ll showcase both in this post but use only the first one to link to the gallery.

I just got back from the beach which I talked about in my last post. I spent every night walking on the beach, watching the sunset; it was so beautiful and peaceful. I captured this shot with my iPhone. I’m in love with the streaks of gold left by the setting sun and the silhouette of the pier makes it that much more divine. This picture takes me right back to those moments on the beach and my soul exhales just a little bit.

week 24_gold_2

The other photo that would have worked is this one. I was driving down the road when I saw this tree in front of an Episcopal Church. The color took my breath away and I HAD to turn around to take a picture. Isn’t it just the most wonderful color in the world?!

week 24_gold

My OneWord for 2013 was Change and I decided to chronicle this tree as it changed through each of the four seasons. Few things embody the power of change more beautifully than a tree. It was fun to capture it over the last year.

tree changes_v2There are some wonderful pictures in this week’s gallery. So as always, go take a look and leave some love for the other photographers. Next week we’re capturing something that starts with C. Wonder what I will come up with for that one ๐Ÿ™‚

In the meantime, I’d love to know what’s your favorite season? Spring is mine. So much life and hope and joy bubbles up when spring shows up. I am slowly gaining an appreciation for the Fall though. I never used to like it but I think it might be growing on me.

8 thoughts on “52 Photos Project – Week 24

  1. I like how you’ve compiled the four seasons on that beautiful tree! Well, fall is my favorite with spring coming in a close second! There’s just something about the color in fall before everything goes to sleep for the winter!

    • I like how you framed that “everything goes to sleep for the winter”. I used to not like winter and I still don’t so much like the cold but I understand, better than ever, the importance of winter’s rest. Thanks for giving me that language. I really love it.

Leave a Reply

