Healing for My Soul

There is a song on the soundtrack for the movie version of the musical Rent called Love Heals. The song is not featured in either the stage or the movie version but it is one of my favorite songs on the CD. It speaks to the idea that when life gets hard and you feel like you can’t breathe, love will heal. This week I am experiencing a slight spin on that idea as I am discovering just how much the ocean heals me. September was a hard month for me. Actually things started to go bad at the end of August so a more accurate statement would be that I’ve had a really tough six weeks or so. I cried every day for three weeks and that is not an exaggeration. There were days I could hardly catch my breath and the only prayer I could pray was for grace and strength to get through the day. To say I am thankful to be out of September, would be an understatement.

IMG_4856

Some friends of mine own a beach house on the North Carolina coast and they graciously agreed to let me stay here for a week. It has been exactly what I needed, exactly what my soul needed. Two nights ago I sat on the beach watching the sun set and afterwards I just lingered. I sat there for about 30 or 40 minutes after the sun went down doing nothing but just being. I had no agenda, no where I needed to be, nobody’s problem that I needed to solve, I could just sit there and BE. There was beauty and stillness and healing in that moment. With each crash of the wave on the shore, something in my soul was mended. With each wave, another wound was tended by the loving arms of my heavenly Father.

IMG_4862

The next day as I was reading my Bible I felt the Father whisper to my heart that this week I didn’t need to ask for anything. I didn’t need to try to conjure up some super spiritual moment to validate that I was “listening to God during this time”. Instead what He whispered was that I was to simply receive His gift of rest this week. Rest is a gift that I often take for granted. A few months ago, it struck me that Jesus healed a lot of people on the Sabbath. When that realization hit me, I wrote in my Bible “healing come through rest” (as the Sabbath is meant to be a day of rest). This week I have been reminded of the truth of that statement. In this place of rest, my soul is healing. The wounded, hurt places are being mended but it is not just the places that I can identify, I believe God is healing some deep wounds in me that I may not yet be aware.

IMG_4880

I am grateful for this time. Grateful for this gift of rest and especially grateful for the work He is doing in me during this time. I know one thing for sure, at some point I need to figure out a way to permanently live near the ocean. My soul needs, on a consistent basis, whatever magic the ocean has hidden in her waters.

How about you, do you know what things heal and nourish your soul?

7 thoughts on “Healing for My Soul

    • Thank you friend. My time on the beach was so refreshing and energizing. It was exactly what I needed. My tank is full and I feel ready to look at the things I need to see as I step into this new season of my life. Thanks as always for the encouraging words.

    • Wow to live seven minutes from the beach. I shall indeed have to figure out a way to make it so for myself. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Hugs to you!

Leave a Reply

