52 Photos Project – Week 18

Talk about cutting it close. I almost forgot about this week’s prompt over at 52 Photos Project. I had no idea what I was going to use for my submission until I remembered this shot from day 15 of my Be Your Own Beloved series.

week 18_light & dark

I modified the pic slightly from what I used originally but what I still love most about this picture is the way the light shows up at the bottom of the steps.  It feels very much like an invitation to step into the unknown. Oftentimes we think of the unknown as a dark place and we fear going there because of all the scary things that might be waiting for us there. I see in this picture an invitation to step into the unknown with an expectation that light and love are waiting for me there. I don’t have to be afraid because good is waiting. There may be challenges but the light will always be there to guide me.

I am at a place in my journey where stepping into the unknown is exactly what I need to do. This picture was and still is a powerful reminder for me that if I will courageously take that step, I just might find good instead of bad/fearful things.

This quote by Paulo Coelho found me a few days ago and I am holding onto it as I step into the light of the unknown (in case you haven’t guessed I am a lover of quotes. I love words and when they are strung together in beautiful ways my soul just exhales):

“If you are brave enough to say “goodbye”, life will reward you with a new “hello”

As usual there are some fabulous submissions in this week’s gallery. Go check it and leave some love for the other photogs doing this challenge. And if you have never read Paulo Coelho’s book The Alchemist, then right after you look at this week’s gallery you should buy that book. I promise you it will change your life. I read it at least once a year and EVERY time I get something new out of it. It’s a quick but powerful read. So go get it. Like now. I mean like right now 🙂

What about you, how do you perceive the unknown? Do you think of it as a scary place or a place to fully embrace?

9 thoughts on “52 Photos Project – Week 18

  1. So true Makeda…”step into the unknown with an expectation that light and love are waiting for me there.” Beautiful… Disappointed, yet full of understanding…that we didn’t get to hook up! But I just know there will be other opportunities!

  2. Really love the image and metaphor, Makeda. A thought-provoking question too. I think I’m on the fence about the unknown. My first thought was no, it’s not scary but if I really examine my actions more closely, I might come up with a different response.

    • Kristen, I understand exactly what you mean I think that in my head I’m fearless but my actions say something different. It’s been me looking at my actions that prompted this questioning of why I am unwilling to step into the unknown. Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

  3. dear makeda,
    good morning! thank you for your inspiring story left so lovingly at recuerda mi corazon.
    i hope you will follow me over to haiku my heart and bask in some deb taylor LIGHT!

    • Hi Rebecca, thanks so much. I am looking forward to this time spent with you, Deb and all the other lovelies participating in the Mish Mash. I’ve only just found your blog but I will now be following along regularly. Your spirit seems to soar and your light is beautiful to see. Thanks for inviting me along.

Leave a Reply

