OneWord 365 Check-In

Every year instead of making New Year’s resolutions I choose OneWord around which I want to frame my year. My friend Alece introduced me to the idea and I have been doing it now for the last 3 years.  You can click here to learn more about how the OneWord concept works. This post is long overdue as it is meant to be a 6 month check-in on how I’m doing with my word. Seeing as it’s practically August, I’m clearly a little late getting this post done. Oh well, better late than never, right? 🙂

This year my word was Change. Every year as part of my end of year ritual I create a vision board to help me visualize the upcoming year. This year I created my board around my OneWord.  Here is a full shot of my board (pardon the blurryness of these pics I took them with my iPad as my regular camera was otherwise detained 🙂 )

full shot

Here is a close up of the top

2013 board_top

And the bottom

2013 board_bottom

My vision board has never been this large before but that tree was begging to be put on my board. On one piece of poster board it took up too much space so I just decided to break out of my normal way of doing things and I used two pieces to create this year’s board. Breaking out my normal way of doing things has definitely been the theme of this year. That tree is a several hundred years old Sequoia tree from the Redwood Forest. As old as it is, it is still growing, still changing, still discovering the full essence of what it is meant to be.

This tree was very symbolic of what I believed 2013 would be for me. At the very top of the tree I put my favorite quote by CS Lewis “You’re never too old to set another goal or to dream a new dream” I am on the verge of making a pretty radical change in my life and at 41 years old I feel a little too old to be making such a big change. This tree and that quote help remind me that age is just a number and as long as I have breath in my lungs then anything is possible. My greatest wish for all of us is that we rise into the best version of ourselves possible. This year I am determined to hold on to the conviction that It is NOT too late for me to discover the full essence of who I am meant to be. If this Sequoia tree can do then I can do it too!

I have fully embraced my word this year. I set about taking the small steps that would help me make the really big change that I need to make. On my board are the words “before you take care of everyone else, take care of yourself”. Shifting to care for myself first is probably the biggest, small change I’ve made this year. I’m learning to make self-care a priority and figuring out what that looks like for me. I’m setting new boundaries and learning to say NO to others so I can YES to the things that honor my soul. As I have learned to listen to my heart more intentionally, she has gently guided me down this road of change and it is both exciting and scary all at the same time. The biggest change is yet to come and as I step into that change I will share more. For now I will say that this year I’m breathing in the courage I need to make the changes my soul so desperately needs. They’ve been baby steps so far but as my friends Teresa and Mandy remind me, baby steps count.

How about you, do you have a OneWord for this year? If so, how are you doing with your word so far?

4 thoughts on “OneWord 365 Check-In

  1. Oh how disciplined you are!!! My word this year is “share.” To share my work more, to share my feelings more…you get the picture. 🙂 Can’t wait to hear more about your plans!!

Leave a Reply

