Learning To Let Go

The theme of letting go has been echoing in my space for the last couple of days. I’m on the brink of a really significant change in my life. When I think about making this change, I alternate between fear inducing anxiety and excitement over the possibility of a new adventure. Change is hard for me and I have been navigating this particular change for almost two years now.

Initially I was just tired; I felt stuck in the mental and emotional space I was in and couldn’t figure out how to get out. I realized I had a choice to make, I could stay there or I could be courageous and choose different. I wanted so desperately to choose different but it all felt so big and almost too much to wrap my head and heart around. I tried taking baby steps but that only made me feel more lost than ever. I had all this angst and I didn’t know how to navigate myself through it. I couldn’t see the forest for the trees. I created this art journal page during that time. Everything just felt so chaotic and all I wanted was some peace.

seeking peace for the in-between

seeking peace for the in-between

Finally I decided to let the process unfold in its own time and space. I stopped trying to figure everything out and decided to just walk out the journey as it was laid out in front of me. I stopped forcing the change and instead let the change unfold naturally. I was on vacation when I finally let go of the need to figure everything out.

the journey

pay attention to the journey

That was back in November and I’ve been slowly unraveling ever since. In the last month or so the unraveling has picked up speed. At the beginning of June I felt God call me to a 30-day fast. When I asked Him what He wanted from me during this time I heard Him say to let this be a time to hold space for the unraveling. I am three weeks into the fast and boy have I been unraveling. The details of my unraveling deserve a post all on its own so I will do that some time in the near future. No worries though, I’m not losing my mind just finding my heart again which is a really beautiful thing to experience.

As the next step of this journey into change gets closer I find myself wanting to hold on tight to the familiar. I don’t want to let go; I want to cling to what I know because the unknown is so scary. But I know that to have what I truly desire means letting go of what I have. It’s not easy but I believe it will be worth it. So this morning I am starting my day with a renewed commitment to hold loosely to the things and the people in my life. Hold loosely to this life in general because in a lot of ways I have settled for a less than existence up until now and I believe there is a different way I am meant to exist. A different way I am meant to engage God, live out my faith and be the best version of myself I am capable of being.

worth the risk

worth the risk

What about you? How are you at letting go and embracing change?

15 thoughts on “Learning To Let Go

  1. Great post, Makeda. I love the page with the trees! Thanks for sharing your heart. I’m in a similar place where God is working in me to let go of stuff I’ve been holding onto. Our staff team has been reading a book by Ruth Haley Barton and a line in her book jumped right off the page and into my soul…”Some of us will wear ourselves out trying to change ourselves before we realize that IT’S NOT ABOUT FIXING; IT’S ABOUT LETTING GO.” Praying for you on your journey. đŸ™‚

    • Thanks for stopping by Mary. I really appreciate the encouragement. Love that quote. It really is all about letting go and letting God have the space He needs to do what He needs to do in us. Thanks for sharing.

  2. This is so awesome. I cannot wait to see how this will unfold over the thirty days. I love that you did an art journal to reckon with God’s calling in your life.

    • Thanks Franchesca! Art journaling has been a tool that God has used to help reawaken and reopen my heart to hearing Him better. I haven’t done a lot of pages lately but hoping to change that here shortly. Thanks for reading and for offering such encouraging words.

  3. Letting go of the holding on…this has been my Mantra for the past couple years. Such a hard one. My site sheisthree dot com addresses this very topic…”accepting change, making space for grace”…and ongoing effort on my part . Best of luck to you and your journey !

    • Thanks so much for stopping by Deb and for the encouraging words. I love that phrase “accepting change, making space for grace” Such a beautiful way to embrace a journey of change. I will be checking out your website on a more consistent basis. You are definitely an inspiration for me in this season.

  4. This line yelled out to me from your page: “I stopped trying to figure everything out and decided to just walk out the journey as it was laid out in front of me.” I KNOW (thanks to your words) that this is what I, too, must do. Thank you for sharing. God bless you.

    • Thanks for stopping by Trece. I’m glad that you have found some encouragement in these ramblings of mine. I will be sharing more of my journey on here so please come back and let me know how things are going for you. Let’s figure out, together, the best way to let go and just trust the process.

  5. We are so on the same path together. I’ve spent way too many years after retirement trying to figure it out…until I finally just let it happen. Love being on the journey with you!

    • Aww thanks so much for the encouragement. I love that I am not alone in this space. Lots of people sharing their experiences and it has been very uplifting. Thanks for being here with me.

Leave a Reply

