52 Photos Project – Week 9

This week’s prompt over at 52 Photos is Chopped.  I didn’t give this prompt a lot of thought so my submission is not necessarily that creative but it was the first thing that came to my mind.  I started a 30-day Daniel Fast this week. You can click here to learn more about The Daniel Fast and the spiritual background for it. I desperately need to quiet some of the noise in my head so I am starting this fast in an effort to hear God’s voice a little more clearly about some important changes coming for me.

The Daniel Fast eliminates sugar, dairy, all meat and meat by products including poultry, and fish. So basically you can eat lots of fruits and vegetables, grains, legumes, and healthy fats including nuts. Now I love me some meat. I am a full on carnivore so this fast will be a huge challenge for me . In addition, I typically eat Paleo style which means I avoid all grains & legumes among other things. Uhmm, Houston we have a problem! I have a sensitivity to grains so I will not be adding those back into my diet. I have, however, decided to concede to eating legumes during the my fast since generally speaking I don’t have a problem with those.  So for the next 30 days I will be eating like a Vegan. Thankfully one of my closest friends is a Vegan and she has pointed me to some great websites with TONS of recipe options.

Part of my menu this week was roasted cauliflower with red chile peppers. As I was chopping up the cauliflower I decided I would use that as my entry for this week’s prompt. So here is my submission this week:

I used a large cauliflower head for the recipe

week 9_pic 1

About half way through the chopping process

week 9_pic 2

All chopped up and ready to be seasoned

week 9_pic 3

Seasonings added and ready to go into the oven for a good slow roast

week 9_pic 4

Seriously, this recipe was so good. For the last 15 minutes of roasting I threw some sliced almonds in there and it just added another level of flavor to this dish. I ate this with some green beans & mushrooms that I also roasted and honestly it was one of the tastiest meals I’ve had in a long time. I’m enjoying looking at all these Vegan recipes. I doubt I’ll become Vegan but at least the next 30 days will open me up to some new culinary experiences 🙂

You can go here to see the other submissions for the Chopped gallery.

2 thoughts on “52 Photos Project – Week 9

  1. What a fabulous job you do with photographing food! Love the sequence and now I’m off to the grocery store to purchase some cauliflower! Thanks for sharing the recipe. Recently I’ve been backing off on the meats and emphasizing veggies. Need to lose some of those pounds accumulated over the winter, ha! Will look into the Daniel Fast. Thanks again for sharing all the great info! And good luck with the next 30 days!

    • Thanks so much for the encouragement. It was actually my first time taking food pics that I was willing to show to anyone else 🙂 I appreciate that you have stopped by. Good luck with your efforts to add more veggies into your menu. I’m a week in and I already feel lighter 🙂 Trick now is to stop eating so many nuts and get my protein from some other sources 🙂

Leave a Reply

