Where I Learn He is FOR Me

“When I cry out to You, then my enemies will turn back; this I know, because God is for me” Psalm 56:9 NKJV

I have read this chapter before, no doubt a hundred times but today the last four words in this verse really jumped out at me. God is for me. How would my relationship with God change if I started from the place of believing God was for me? Instead of thinking that I was being punished for something or that He had forgotten or abandoned me, what if I chose to start from believing that He is FOR me? Trusting that whatever I am walking through He is aware, He is present and He is at work even when it doesn’t feel like it. What might change in me if I let the truth that He is FOR me settle deep in my heart and soul?

I read a quote once that said “God provides in a way that bends the whole of the cosmos to the good that He wills”. Did you catch that? All of the cosmos, the entire universe is bending toward the good that HE wills. There are some serious implications for how I view God and my circumstances when I understand that everything happening around me is bending toward the good that He wills; it’s all marching toward an ending He has orchestrated and it is GOOD. This is so hard for me to wrap my limited thinking around when I’m in the middle of a struggle and things don’t feel so good. It is hard to imagine that the awful things I may be facing today are meant for good.  But if I can trust that God is FOR me then I can hold onto the hope that some way, some how God is working this out not just for my good but for the good of others too.

I am reminded of the story of Joseph and how God used the awful circumstances of Joseph being a slave and a prisoner to work out good not just in Joseph but also for an entire nation. We cannot see the big picture. We only get to see a small part of what He is doing. He is orchestrating details of stories we don’t even know about yet and the things we are facing are meant to work out for good. Joseph said it in Genesis 50:20 what was meant for evil God used for good. Paul tells us in Romans 8:28 that He works all things out for our good. God is good! And because He is good, He will always be FOR those He loves. God is for me! May the truth of that bring peace and comfort to this, all too often, restless heart.

I’m going to leave you with a video of the song Your Love Never Fails from Jesus Culture. I may be just a little bit in love with Jesus Culture 🙂 This song in particular was on repeat in my head as I wrote these words today. At 3:22, they repeat the refrain “You make all things work together for my good”. May you and I both never forget.

Leave a Reply

