CARE: Defending Dignity, Fighting Poverty

I recently got back from a Vision Trip with Children’s Hope Chest to Moldova (you can read about the trip on my Facebook page. Even if we aren’t Facebook friends, the posts are public so you shouldn’t have a problem viewing them). I have always had a desire to be a part of the solution to the issue of human trafficking. But since getting back from Moldova, my heart has been really stirred on the issue of women’s rights and giving a voice to the voiceless in the world.

This past Wednesday night I was given the opportunity to attend a dinner and networking event for CARE, an organization committed to creating lasting change in the world’s poorest communities. They place a special emphasis on working with girls and women because experience has shown that when a girl or a woman is empowered, they create ripple effects of change that lift themselves and whole communities out of poverty. I was very impressed by what I heard and plan to get more involved with this organization. On a random side note, back in December CARE came across my path randomly as I was looking for places to donate some extra end of  year dollars. I love that this organization has circled back into my world.

CARE Action Network

The advocacy arm of CARE is their CARE Action Network or CAN. The use CAN to help push for the kinds of effective economic, political and social policies – locally and globally – that will produce the lasting change required for injustice to be truly eradicated. I’m excited about getting involved with CAN and adding my voice to this conversation in anyway possible. They have a conference coming up in March. I’m not sure if I will be able to go but either way I am looking forward to learning more and doing what I can to support their work. Take a look at their website and see the amazing work they are doing across the world.

Leave a Reply

